Logan Seavey Scores First DIRTcar Nationals Win

Seavey brings Abacus Racing its first win in third AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series start

Logan Seavey shattered stats and records for he and Abacus Racing at Volusia Speedway Park Tuesday night.

The California driver entered Federated Auto Parts DIRTcar Nationals with the United States Auto Club (USAC) Sprint Cars, having never finished better than 14th at the “World’s Fastest Half Mile” and with a team making only its third start with the national Series. However, after 30 laps, you would’ve never guessed.

Taming every corner with a precise dance of entering low and sliding up to the cushion, Seavey maneuvered from ninth to the lead in 20 laps and went on to win his first golden gator at Volusia.

“This is just awesome,” Seavey said. “I think after Hot Laps all the wind went out of my sails, but these guys didn’t give up. They kept working on this thing and making it better for me.”

The night’s $10,000-to-win Feature – which was the first of two as Monday’s Feature was pushed to end of Tuesday’s program due to rain on Monday – saw Carson Garrett and Kyle Cummins lineup on the front row. When the green flag flew, Garrett led the field into the first turn and then pulled ahead, leaving Cummins, Mitchel Moles and Brady Bacon to duel for second.

After a caution on Lap 7, Garrett found himself having to play defense for the lead against Cummins and Bacon. His sword and shield weren’t strong enough for Cummins’ sliders as the #3P stole the lead shortly after the restart. Then, Bacon capitalized on Garrett’s slowing momentum to move into second.

But before Bacon could formulate his own attack for the lead, Seavey came knocking and took second by the halfway point of the race.

With full confidence in his car and motor – after battling motor issues the past couple days – Seavey ran down Cummins and threw slider after slider, corner after corner, to slow Cummins’ momentum and find the perfect chance to pounce.

That chance came on Lap 20. After playing I-lead-you-lead with Cummins a couple of times, Seavey finally cleared him and put seconds between he and the field.

“You just have to get racing and see where your car is better,” Seavey said. “I was surprised when he turned down in (Turn) two, I think I just held the cushion when I slid him.”

He saw the white flag and clear track in front of him en route to the win, but then a red flag. Bacon jumped the wheel of a lapped car, causing he and the car to flip, and collected several others.

But the pause did nothing to hinder Seavey’s trek. When the race resumed for a green-white-checkered finish, Seavey fired like a bullet out of the restart and cruised to his 11th AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car win.

“Huge for us and our team to get started on the right foot,” Seavey said. “This makes it a heck of a lot sweeter and beats by 14th place (career best) finish (at Volusia).”

Cummins ended up second and Kevin Thomas Jr. raced from eighth to third.

The USAC Non-Wing Sprint Cars will crown their 2024 Big Gator champion tonight with the 25-lap Feature that was originally scheduled for Monday put got pushed to tonight due to rain. Chris Stockton will start pole with Mitchel Moles to his outside.

If you’re not at the track, you can watch every lap live on DIRTVision.

RESULTS (30 laps):
1. Logan Seavey, 2. Kyle Cummins, 3. Kevin Thomas Jr., 4. C.J. Leary, 5. Carson Garrett, 6. Daison Pursley, 7. Mitchel Moles, 8. Briggs Danner, 9. Chase Stockon, 10. Justin Grant, 11. Robert Ballou, 12. Joey Amantea, 13. Tye Mihocko, 14. Timmy Buckwalter, 15. Tom Harris, 16. Matt Westfall, 17. Zach Daum, 18. 19. Alex Bright, 20. Brady Bacon, 21. Jadon Rogers, 22. Trey Osborne, 23. Brandon Mattox, 24. Brian Ruhlman, 25. Jake Swanson